Recycled band shirt

I’ve been buying band tees for almost 10 years now. Many of them sit in my dresser and collect dust for a number of reasons… either I don’t listen to the band anymore, I don’t like the way the shirt fits, or I really screwed up when I tried to alter the shirt and it’s now a complete, unwearable mess. Welp.

A lot of my friends have mentioned making a quilt out of all their old tees, which would be pretty rad, but I don’t have too much time to commit to a big project like that. So I thought, why not cut out the design and sew it onto a reusable bag? Not only are you still repping the band, but it also encourages you to be sustainable when it comes to grocery shopping! Plus, store-branded bags are really boring.

MATERIALS:

  • scissors
  • thread
  • needle
  • pins
  • a reusable bag
  • an old band shirt

img_5437


STEP ONE: Cut out the design from the shirt. Then place it overtop the side of the bag with the branding. Once you’ve made sure the patch is lined up how you want it, pin each corner down in place so it doesn’t move.

img_5432


STEP TWO: Thread your needle, put on some tunes, and sew away! You will definitely have to rethread, so make sure you have enough thread…. but if you do run out, you can always use safety pins.

img_5440


STEP THREE: Marvel at your creation. The sewing for this DOOM patch took me around an hour. The time it takes will vary depending on the size of the patch and your skill level. It’s so worth it, though! Sewing is personally a great form of stress relief.

img_5446

How do you use your old band shirts? Let me know in the comments!

Tell me what you think!

